百万个盼望的呼声

您愿意为叙利亚和伊拉克的基督徒发声吗?

Hope for the Middle East

由于多年来的战乱和暴力冲突,叙利亚和伊拉克两国人民正饱受艰难困苦。我们相信,叙伊两国人民,包括住在两国的基督徒,他们的生命、生活和自由理应得到保护和保障。

接近2000年,两国的教会在社会中担当着重要的角色,在往后的岁月,他们矢志成为彰显盼望与恩慈之处。他们正面对针对性的严重暴力和逼迫。即便如此,基督徒仍竭力在家园故土,并为祖国寻求更美的明天。

中东的基督徒和其他群体正面对前所未有的威吓,我们决不能袖手旁观,必须给他们带去希望。

您愿意参与凑齐100万个呼声,一同为叙利亚和伊拉克的基督徒祷告和发声吗?我们必须大声疾呼,向全世界宣告必须付诸行动,以确保这两国基督徒能拥有真正的未来。您愿意出一分力量,发出声音来推动改变吗?

常见问题

我为何要签署?
全球民众和政界人士都在问:基督徒在中东究竟还有没有明天?答案必然是一声响亮的“有”。

许多人对此百思不解,然而,叙利亚和伊拉克的基督徒已清晰地向我们诉说,要做什么才能让他们在自己的国家拥有将来。当下最迫切的,就是令他们的声音被听到,让他们的未来得到保障。这份全球请愿书就是在他们最需要的时刻,通过祷告和行动,切实参与支持叙伊两国基督徒的途径。

这份请愿书会被如何使用?
〈敞开的门〉及合作伙伴,将于2017年12月向联合国负责监管这方面议题的新任秘书长,提交请愿书。若我们能够在秘书长团队上任初期,就将此事提上他们的议事日程,所造成的影响将不可估量。此外,从现在直到2017年12月,我们全球各分部的同工与合作伙伴,会使用这份请愿书,向拥有直接影响力的人和机构作出呼吁,以促成从根本上的改变。

为何是现在?
2013年,全球超过30万人签署了“拯救叙利亚”请愿书,呼吁联合国关注在叙利亚危机中,基督徒特别容易遭受攻击的处境。由于“拯救叙利亚”,联合国最高层人士了解到叙伊基督徒正饱受煎熬。然而,至今仍鲜有人知可如何支持中东的基督徒。叙伊两国基督徒告诉我们,若能促成某些改变,他们就能够留在故里。我们必须立即行动,以最大的音量把这些急需实现的改变告诉世人,好让基督徒在他们的祖国能拥有具盼望的明天,并且能继续贡献和造福他们的社会。

真的会带来改变吗?
2010年,超过42.8万人参与了“信仰的权利”请愿运动,抗议联合国大会通过“宗教诽谤”决议。该决议在2011年的支持率显着下降。2012年后,就一直没有再获提交。

2013年,全球超过30万人签署了“拯救叙利亚”请愿书,呼吁联合国关注在叙利亚危机中,基督徒特别容易遭受攻击的处境。由于 “拯救叙利亚” 请愿运动,联合国最高层人士了解到叙伊基督徒饱受煎熬,如今他们面临的处境已广为人知。

这些请愿运动显示了,公开发声真的能带来改变。有了您的一分支持,我们向掌权者或有影响力人士提出这运动的倡议之时,可以发出更响亮有力的声音。然而,最重要的是,当我们向政治人物发声的时候,我们也必须向上主祈求——祷告和发声,乃是最有力、最重要的组合。

请愿书中的具体倡议内容是如何制订的?
2015年9月至2016年3月间,我们在叙利亚和伊拉克基督徒中展开了广泛的咨询。这帮助我们更清楚地了解中东基督徒对自己社会角色的看法,并明确他们的需要,从而帮助我们了解可怎样与中东基督徒站在一起。从咨询结果得出的倡议,最终可总结为3大方面。这3个大方面勾勒出我们这份请愿书所呼吁和倡议的内容。

Million Voices of Hope

Will you add your voice for Christians in Syria and Iraq?

Hope for the Middle East

The Syrian and Iraqi populations are facing immense suffering because of years of war and violent unrest. We believe that in Syria and Iraq the lives, livelihoods and freedoms of all people should be protected and guaranteed. This includes the Christians.

The Christians in both these countries have played a vital role in society for almost 2,000 years and are committed to being a place of hope and compassion for the years to come. They face significant targeted violence and persecution. Yet, despite this, Christians seek a future in – and for – their homelands.

We cannot stand by while Christians in the Middle East face unprecedented threat. We must give them hope.

Will you join us in raising 1 Million Voices of Hope in prayer and advocacy for Christians in Syria and Iraq? We must tell the world in as loud a voice as possible what needs to be done to guarantee a genuine future for Christians in these countries. Will you add your voice and make a difference?

Petition FAQs

Why should I sign?
Global citizens and politicians around the world are asking whether Christians have a future in the Middle East. The answer must be a resounding ‘yes’.

Many are at a loss to imagine how this can be possible. But Syrian and Iraqi Christians have told us clearly what needs to be done to give them a future in their countries. It is vital that their voices are heard and their future guaranteed. This truly global petition is a practical way to join in prayer and action to support Christians in Syria and Iraq in their hour of greatest need.

What will you do with the petition?
The Open Doors team and partners will present this petition to the new Secretary General of the United Nations in December 2017 – the one person who has oversight of all the issues raised. It will have a huge impact if we can get this on their agenda at the beginning of their term in office. In addition, between now and December 2017, colleagues and partners around the world will raise these calls with different people and organisations who have direct influence over each of the campaign recommendations and can truly make a difference on the ground.

Why now?
In 2013, over 300,000 people around the world signed the Save Syria petition calling on the United Nations (UN) to recognise that Christians were especially vulnerable within the Syrian crisis. Thanks to Save Syria, people at the highest levels know that Christians in Syria and Iraq are suffering. But nobody knows how to support Christians in the Middle East. Christians in Syria and Iraq tell us that they can stay if certain changes are made. We must act immediately to tell the world in as loud a voice as possible what these changes are so that Christians can have a hope for a future in their homelands, and can continue contributing to the good of their societies.

Will it make a difference?
In 2010, over 428,000 people signed the Right to Believe petition campaigning against the ‘defamation of religions’ resolution at the UN. In 2011 this resolution gained significantly less support. It has not been tabled since 2012.

In 2013, over 300,000 people around the world signed the Save Syria petition calling on the UN to recognise that Christians were especially vulnerable within the Syrian crisis. Thanks to Save Syria, people at the highest levels know that Christians in Syria and Iraq are suffering and it has now become mainstream knowledge.

These campaigns show how speaking out in advocacy can make a real difference. With your support, we can have a louder voice when we approach those who have the power and influence to deliver the recommendations of this campaign. But most importantly, while we advocate to politicians we also have an advocate in heaven – prayer and advocacy are a powerful and important combination.

How were the calls of the petition decided?
We conducted extensive consultations with Christians in Syria and Iraq between September 2015 and March 2016. These helped us to gain a clearer understanding of how Christians in the Middle East understand their role within their society, and to ascertain their needs in order to better understand how we can stand alongside Christians in the Middle East. The recommendations which came out of these consultations fell broadly into three categories. These three categories defined the content and calls of this petition.